Decatur County Community Schools Board of Education

The Decatur County Community Schools Board of Education met on Wednesday.

The board approved the payment of claims and payroll. The resignations of Christopher Williams- North Decatur, Tyler Johnson- North/South Decatur, Marissa Miller- South Decatur, Steve Stirn- North Decatur, and Ernie Ruble-North Decatur were approved. The leaves of Jackie Blair- North Decatur and Dottie Hellmich- North Decatur were approved. The hirings of Katelyn Butz- North Decatur, Anna Schwering- North Decatur, Melissa Nesbit- North Decatur, Shannon Marksberry- North Decatur, H Reed Ulery- North Decatur, Audrey Wicker- North/South Decatur, Breanne Helms- South Decatur, Ben Vanderbur- Desktop Technician, and Connie Krieger-Desktop Technician were approved. The following hirings for north Decatur athletics were approved: Issac Loechle- Volunteer boys basketball, Kylie Ricke- Assistant Volleyball, and Morgan McKinney- Junior High cheerleading. The following Summer School instructional assistants and summer tech were approved: Diana Apostolakos, Teresa Scudder, Cathy Pittman, Sheila Skinner, Ryan Hancock, and Ryken Winchester.

The board discussed ESSER funding. This is Covid funding that school corporations are being allotted and will come in 3 rounds. The school accepted all donations totaling at $1,590. The board approved the disposal of the following obsolete equipment: group readers, textbooks, and thesauruses. The adult meal pricing for the 2021-2022 school year was presented. Since next school year students will not be paying for lunch, the adult lunches will go up in price to $4.60. This is being done by the federal government and not by the school board. This is the lowest price they are able to make the lunch according to the federal government regulations. This was approved. The Purple Heart resolution was approved.

Morgan Schofield


All Rights Reserved

Post Ad 2