86th annual meeting

Decatur County REMC hosts 86th Annual Meeting

From Abby Asher
Decatur County Rural Electric Membership Cooperative hosted members at their annual meeting on
recently at the Decatur County Fairgrounds. The festivities kicked off at 4 pm with food and
Over 1,000 meals were prepared by C&P Tavern followed by ice cream from HillBilly Corner. Members
were treated this year by being served from the North Decatur Football Team and we had a great cleanup
crew thanks to the 4H Junior Leaders.
There was an array of electric vehicles courtesy of Russ Hubler
Automotive, Southeastern Indiana REMC, and Hoosier Energy. Members were also treated to a live line
demonstration and bucket truck rides. Additionally, there were special treats for our youngest attendees at the Little Crew Corner, with some joining our newest Little Crew Club.
The evening wrapped up with a business meeting, the annual election results, and over $4,000 in prizes
donated by our community and business partners. Brett Abplanalp, CEO, states, “This annual event is a
personal favorite of mine. Seeing familiar faces and meeting new ones, listening to their feedback, and
expressing gratitude for their membership is truly incomparable.”
2024 Elections Results
Director District 5:
Elected: Brian Scheidler – 711 Votes
V Albert Armand – 418 Votes
Cory Ross – 244 Votes
Director District 6:
Elected: Dale Wernke – 867 Votes
Jeff Evans – 495 Votes
Nominating Committee District 7:
Elected: Bill Huffmeyer – 812 Votes
Patty Lange Fischer – 548 Votes

Post Ad 2