Greensburg Grad being honored as a Men’s Center Circle Officials Award Winner

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors announces the 2024 Men’s Center Circle Officials Award Winners to be honored on Wednesday, March 20, 2024.

John Lozier * Leesburg
Richard Modricker Logansport
Jerry Taylor Greensburg

  • Indicates deceased
    NEW CASTLE – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes three men for their
    contribution as high school basketball officials as the 2024 Men’s Center Circle Officials
    Award winners. These are honorees receiving that particular award which is separate from the being inducted to Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

  • John Lozier, Richard Modricker, and Jerry Taylor will be recognized for their officiating
    The late John Lozier, a 1953 graduate of Leesburg High School played basketball, ran track
    and played baseball. John worked 24 sectionals, 19 regionals, 10 semi-states, and two state
    finals (1979 and 1980). He had officiated numerous other tournaments and was named 1982
    Roy Gardner Memorial Award winner. He was a member in North Central (of Kokomo)
    Officials Association, serving as instructor and rules interpreter for between 10 and 15 years.
    John also mentored numerous officials in NCOA and in Logansport area.
  • Richard Modricker was a 1961 Logansport graduate who played basketball and baseball.
    He worked 34 sectionals, 28 regionals, 12 semi-states and one state finals (2005), as well as
    2001 Hall of Fame Classic. A member of the North Central Officials Association for over 56
    years, he served as President, Vice President, rules interpreter, a clinician and an observer
    He is retired from a position with Boeing Corporation and resides in Georgia.

Jerry Taylor, a 1974 Greensburg graduate played tennis both at Greensburg and later at Ball
State. Jerry worked 17 sectionals, 14 regionals, seven semi-states and three state finals
(1992, 1996, and 2000). He was a 2007 recipient of Roy Gardner Award. He won 1995-96
IHSAA/NFOA Outstanding Official Award for boys’ basketball in Indiana, and was a member
of Western Officials Association, serving as Vice President and scheduling chairman. Jerry
has worked with rules interpretation meetings, observation, and as a clinician.
All Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of
Fame’s 62nd Men’s Awards Banquet on Wednesday, March 20, 2024.
A midday reception, free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame Museum in
New Castle. The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located
on the south side of Indianapolis.
Banquet reservations are will soon be available on the Hall of Fame’s website, or by calling
(765) 529-1891. For more information, you may also email

Post Ad 2