North Decatur academic teams compete at Batesville

The North Decatur academic teams traveled to Batesville on Tuesday evening to participate in the area Indiana Academic Super Bowl competition. The Science team consisting of Charlie Kramer (Captain), Philomenia Niese, Ty Pratt, and Kaytlyn Pankl  won their respective class to take the first place Science prize in their Senior Division Science class. They were also the overall  second place Science team among all schools competing from the other classes.

This was the Science team’s second, big competition win, this year as they were also the overall champions at the Batesville Invitational in February.

The Social Studies team consisting of Blaine Wagner, Robert Rogers, Riley Bohman, and Breanna McBride did punch their ticket to the state finals on May 6th   by virtue of points with a second place finish. They hope to improve one spot from their 2022 state runner up position.

The North Decatur academic team has won five consecutive Mid-Hoosier Conference titles. They have also produced a state champion and a state runner up in the past year.

Coaches for the team include Alli Hunnicutt, Madeline Childress, Deidre Laker, Ernie Ruble, and Pat Hagerty.

Science team- Pictured left to right- Charlie Kramer, Philomenia Niese, Ty Pratt, and Kaytlyn Pankl

Post Ad 2