MLK Celebration

ICRC Acknowledged 7 Hoosiers at Annual MLK Celebration

Indianapolis—The Indiana Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday
Commission hosted the State of Indiana’s 33rd Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday
Celebration on Thursday, Jan. 11, 2024, at the Indiana Statehouse.
The program featured keynote speaker Dr. Russell Ledet, M.D./Ph.D. and included an awards
presentation honoring four Hoosiers who have worked diligently to improve their communities in a
manner that exemplifies the vision of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., as well as two teenagers from Gary
who are the youngest scholars in the state accepted into degree-track, four-year university programs.
Governor Eric J. Holcomb presented the Sagamore of the Wabash Award to Joe Jordan of the Boys &
Girls Club of Fort Wayne for his distinguished service to the State of Indiana.
The 2024 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday Celebration Award Recipients are as follows:
Reverend Charles Williams Award
Kendra Nowell, CEO of Community Alliance of the Far Eastside (CAFE)
Sam Jones Award
Shontrai Irving, Clinical Associate Professor of Business Law, Purdue University Northwest
Humanitarian Award
Sally Tuttle, Vice Chair of The American Indian Center of Indiana, Inc.
Coleman-Staples Award
Rupal Thanawala, Board President of the Asian American Alliance Inc.; President & CEO, Trident Systems

Post Ad 2