Two Columbus students are on the list

Indiana High School Students to Participate in Poetry Out Loud State Finals 

(INDIANAPOLIS) The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that students representing fourteen high schools from around the state will compete in the Indiana Poetry Out Loud State Finals. The Poetry Out Loud State Finals will occur on Saturday, March 4th at 1:30PM ET at the Indiana Government Center Conference Center.

Since 2005, the National Endowment for the Arts, Poetry Foundation, and Indiana Arts Commission have worked with Indiana schools, teachers, and organizations to bring students a unique way to learn and love poetry. Through Poetry Out Loud, students read, memorize, and recite classic and contemporary poems.  

The fourteen students taking part in the 2023 Poetry Out Loud State Finals include:   

Minh Huynh Bloomington High School South 
Charlotte Griffith Clay High School 
Allison Mullett Columbia City High School 
Sreepadaarchana Munjuluri Columbus North High School 
Austin Menefee Columbus Signature Academy New Tech Campus 
Corbin Malchow Delta High School 
Lukka M. Sumner Franklin Central High School 
Gaia Splendore Homestead High School 
Serenity Akers Indiana Digital Learning School
Chloe Duncan Ivy Tech Early College High School 
Eliana M. Ortega Jasper High School 
Matilde E Ibarra Monroe Central Jr./Sr. High School 
Aalihya Banks Pike High School 
Shelby Lloyd West Washington Jr./Sr. High School 

The finals will be hosted by Hannah Coe and Charlotte Yeung. Hannah Coe is a freshman at Ball State University and currently serves as the Program Assistant for Poetry Out Loud. She is a former Poetry Out Loud State Finalist and a current Ball State University student studying Art Education. Charlotte Yeung is the 2022 Indianapolis Youth Poet Laureate. Her award-winning art and writing is published on multiple platforms from the New York Times to Carnegie Hall. She will compete for the National Youth Poet Laureate title in Hawaii in late April. 

The State Champion receives a $200 cash prize and the Champion’s school receives a $500 stipend to purchase poetry books. Each student winner receives a handmade trophy created by textile artist Emily Bennett of Terre Haute, IN. The State Champion will also represent Indiana at the Poetry Out Loud National Finals, where the National Champion will be awarded $20,000. 

Poetry Out Loud is a national partnership between the National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation.  

Post Ad 2